embarking on a journey

Next Wednesday I’ll be leaving for a two month internship in Sarajevo, Bosnia. I’ll be working for the British NGO, Hope and Homes. I’m not entirely sure what I’ll be doing while I’m there, to say the least, but I do know that it will be an incredible experience in a country that certainly could use assistance.

I don’t know how I’ll actually be able to help and it’s certainly caused me to doubt my own abilities. I’m a graduate student, getting my Masters in International Disaster Psychology. The people there have experienced a traumatic war. In some ways I feel as if I am interrupting their lives, trying to further my own knowledge base and experiences, where as they simply want to live their lives. However, if they didn’t need my help, I wouldn’t be spending my summer there.

For being 24, I’d considered myself a fairly experienced traveler. However, I’ve only spent a few weeks in Eastern Europe, and I haven’t encountered much of a language barrier during my previous 6 months in Europe in 2006. Serbo-Croatian will be a bit different than the languages I’ve previously encountered or studied.  To be honest, it’s a bit difficult to be excited for a trip that has so many uncertainties. I am extremely excited for the experience, and especially for my month of traveling afterward, but I literally don’t have a clue what I’ll be doing. but maybe that just makes it more exciting!

I finish up classes this week at DU, and then have this weekend to run errands, pack, and say my temporary goodbyes. I am not bringing my precious MacBook Pro with me (no internet in my apartment, and I do not want to trek around Europe for a month with it on my body 24/7) and thus, I will likely be out of touch. I will supposedly have access to the internet in my office, but I will make no assumptions! I recently purchased a Sony portable DVD player and a friend is conveniently loaning me the entire collection of LOST so I will have some night time entertainment, along with delicious Bosnian treats and wine!

7 thoughts on “embarking on a journey

  1. theVar

    Christine, Best wishes on the new blog and the 2 month trip. Your new adventure sounds so exciting. I can’t wait to read more of your experiences. Hats off to ya. Cheers!

    Reply
  2. Suzi

    Lots of uncertainties, to be sure, but it should be an amazing experience. I never did anything like that at your age and I envy you this opportunity. And as for the internet, you will surely encounter cafes or friends who have access so you can check in from time to time. I’m sorry I missed seeing you while you were in Portland. Have a wonderful journey!

    Reply
  3. Amanda A

    you will do outstanding things, and i am incredibly excited for you & the things it will to in your future. i am hoping for only the very best, and am so inspired by your dedication to helping others and so proud of you! (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

