bon voyage

I should probably start packing, considering I leave in 17 hours. it’s hard to know what to pack, what to bring, what to expect. but I’m used to that at this point. bring the basics and essentially be prepared for any event, weather, or hostel. I’m keeping it simple with a backpack and a daypack. no need for unnecessary luggage, especially during my solo one month trek. I’m not good at goodbyes, for I believe that true friends will always find their way back to each other. maybe I’m more of the sensitive and loyal type, but I believe in my friendships and I have faith in myself.

what a summer of change! my entire grad program is also studying abroad across the globe, and I’m excited to see how our experiences match up and how different we’ll all be once we return to Denver.

I’ll certainly be expanding on my August travel plans once I actually know them, but I know I’ll be meeting friends in Greece, and will be making my way down there. any recommendations or suggestions? I can’t imagine another time when I’ll have local access to Macedonia and Albania, so I’m definitely interested in trekking through there. I already have a few weekend trips set up in Croatia and across Bosnia. what’s ironic to me is that when I studied abroad in Copenhagen in 2006, I purposely went to Eastern Europe because I didn’t think I’d end up there again any time soon. less than 4 years later I am heading back!

my ipods are charged, my apartment is clean and I’ve emailed the family and friends. now it’s time to see Sex and the City 2 with a friend, grab some Mexican food and Pinkberry, and then I’m off for a long weekend in Budapest before arriving in Sarajevo Monday morning. glorious!

6 thoughts on “bon voyage

  1. Dustinvan

    Save travels. And while you’re busy having fun, don’t forget to have some fun, too. ;) See you in September.

    Reply
  2. Amanda A

    ahh i am sososo excited for you! enjoy your afternoon before heading out and travel safe, please! <3
    will you be using twitter at all while you're gone, or just updating this?

    spread your wings, girl. have the time of your life! (:

    Reply
    1. turnthisway Post author

      thanks girl! oh I will be using my twitter more than anything else.

      if you want to read my blog you can subscribe to it and it will email you every time I update.. but I do tweet when I update :)

      Reply
  3. T&T

    its not goodbye when there’s internets. <3

    probably a good thing they gave me a whole lot more work today…

    Reply
  4. Raquel McLeod

    I am so excited for you and extremely proud of you and all the work your going to be doing. If you need anything for yourself or the children let us know! I can’t wait to read all about this amazing new adventure!

    Reply
  5. Caroline

    So, first off, I am so excited for you and your summer, it sounds like it will be a lot of work, but also a lot of fun! Second, you never cease to amaze me, I’m so proud of you and what you have accomplished so far in life, and all the amazing things still to come.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

