defining my home

home.

home is where the heart is. home is not where you live but where they understand you. you can never go home again, but the truth is you can never leave home, so it’s all right.

where ever I am, I seem to be at home. right now, Sarajevo is my home. Denver is my home-home. Portland is my real home. am I at home, no matter where in the world I am?

a few years ago, a friend gave me a small silver coin that had a globe on one side, and said “there’s no place like home” on the other. after carrying it with me through many of my travels, I passed it on to another friend that was embarking on his own international journey.

I grew up in Portland. went to college in Los Angeles (Whittier). studied abroad in Denmark. lived in an apartment in Whittier. moved to Denver by myself. now temporarily living/volunteering in Bosnia. and I have no idea where I will be after I graduate next year. I have friends all over the country, and almost my entire family lives in Portland.

I have chosen to move, to learn, to experience. but in doing so, I have sacrificed a close relationship with my family. yes, the internet and phone exists. and I can fly home every so often. but in my opinion, person to person contact is essential for a relationship to grow. I haven’t seen many of my high school friends since… high school. I have been to 25 countries and at least half of the US, but don’t get me wrong, I love my friends and family dearly.

I believe I have more than one home. my true home is Portland, although I have only visited the city a handful of times in the past few years. I feel natural in Portland. I know the city better than I thought I did, and I miss it. I’m not an LA person. my true love of LA was the diversity and the beach. you can find that other places besides LA. Denver? huge fan. if Colorado had a coast it would hands-down be the best state. I have no idea where my life is taking me. but I will continue to establish homes and safe havens where ever I go.

One thought on “defining my home

Leave a Reply

