discovering solo traveling

while chatting with a friend this spring about his summer of “self discovery”, I realized that I had the perfect opportunity to do the same. while no offense to anyone in my grad program, there wasn’t anyone I particularly had a strong desire to travel with. and thus, I realized that I could embark on my first solo trip.

solo traveling is unlike anything I had anticipated. many of my friends were quite worried I’d be kidnapped and sold (seriously…) due to the fact that I am young and female. also, many friends were nervous that I would be extremely bored because I don’t have a travel companion. well. bored? hardly! I can’t remember the last time I spent 10 minutes by myself! I have met SO many amazing people from all over the world, and we’ve done things I wouldn’t have thought of or would have been able to afford.

will I ever solo travel again? at this point in my life I don’t know when I would have the time or finances to plan another trip like this, but of course I will be traveling. that’s not even a question.

last night I left Croatia and flew into Budapest (now my third time here) and met up with the girls from my program that I began my travels with. solo traveling has officially ended. I’m pretty impressed with myself for how it all went, and although I was pretty sick for the past week on Hvar Island, I honestly (cliche) wouldn’t change a thing.

back on US soil on Wednesday evening.

One thought on “discovering solo traveling

Leave a Reply

