desperate for my dream.

I just exclaimed to the twitter world that I just applied for my dream job. is this true? mostly. I’m at the point of desperation for a job that any job paying over $40k, with a semi-international focus, semi-applicable to my field, has now become my “dream” job. It’s officially been over a year since I have been job searching and about nine months since I have been seriously searching (aka nine months since I graduated) and I don’t have much to show for myself besides a handful of interviews and a few hundred rejection emails. I wish it wasn’t so difficult to move to a developing country and help people and make a meager salary. but it IS.

so what’s next? a change of field? a change of city or country? I wish I knew.

4 thoughts on “desperate for my dream.

  1. Ryan Linstrom (@ryanlinstrom)

    Took me 11 months after graduating (almost to the day) before I found the job I wanted. Hundreds of rejection letters, multiple interviews that led nowhere, and an increasingly low self-esteem. But, in the end – I caught myself a good one. Hang in there. You’ll find it.

    Reply
    1. christine

      thanks – it’s just so hard to stay focused on what I’m even looking for. I do have great experiences and confidence and I know I WILL find something but this process totally sucks.

      Reply
  2. Nora Canty

    It is very difficult to keep your spirits up when there has been so much rejection, but the Christine I know and love very much needs to shine and smile. We know the right position will happen just like your friend said. Don’t let a pessimistic attitude slow you down. Sometimes that negativism can show through when applying for a post.

    Reply
    1. christine

      thank you for the encouragement! I wouldn’t say I’m pessimistic as much as just incredibly and increasingly frustrated. but… it will work out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

