a non-change of plans.

I’ve been applying for jobs in Denver for a while  – I do live here, after all – but I haven’t been exclusively searching until now. Turns out I live in an amazing city with a lot of great opportunities and there is no reason for me to feel unhappy or stuck. I’m now officially applying for jobs here (applied for 12 today) and plan to find a job in my field, buy a car, and potentially move to a larger apartment with more amenities. I had a quick opportunity to move out of my uber-expensive apartment at DU and got a deal on this vintage studio but I’m sick of having no space, no dishwasher, no gym, no garbage disposal, no living room, etc.

Full disclosure – I’m embarrassed that the cohort a year below me is about to graduate and some have already secured jobs (although I am totally proud of them) and that it’s taken me a year to figure out what I want to do. I don’t feel like I have much to show for the past year but there have been hundreds of job applications. maybe even one thousand. I do work full time. I am a manager. things could be much worse! and the overseas thing, for whatever reason, is unfortunately not happening (but I do still have a valid passport and a backpack and am tempted to buy a ticket to Peru or Thailand…).

so there it is. I am finally embracing life in Denver and realizing I can make it work here. the restaurant has been a change of pace and has been fun but I’m starting to hit the wall there and I want to use my skills, intelligence, experience, etc. I want to do what I know I’m meant to do and I’m going to make it happen for myself, no matter what.

p.s. one of my best friends, Jane, is running a half marathon in San Francisco and is fundraising with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Team In Training to help find cures and better treatments for leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease and myeloma. please visit her website and consider making a donation (I just donated $50!).

2 thoughts on “a non-change of plans.

  1. Maria

    Hi Christine and I’m so happy that you found my blog…because it led me to yours!

    I could write a book on career planning, career change, and job applications, because I have a lot of experience going through the same thing you are: searching for the next career step and actually finding that job. Like you, I have a job and I’m just okay with it. It pays the bills but is, at most times, very un-gratifying (who goes to grad school to make copies for someone?). I’ve been applying and applying to other jobs and nothing has happened yet. I started working with a recruiter, which is my suggestion to you. He or she can help you figure out what you want to do next and have connections that will get you instant interviews. I’m sure Denver has some great ones and even the good ones are free! Mine narrowed my focus and asked me important questions like “what are the 5 most important things you want in a position?”. And again, you can’t beat their connections. Mine also gave me free resume help.

    Anyways, best of luck in your search and feel free to email me (falls.maria@gmail.com) if you have any questions. Like I mentioned, I’ve been out of college for 6 years and out of grad school for 2 and AM still trying to figure out this career thing, so you aren’t alone!

    Reply
    1. christine Post author

      ahh yay hello! I actually “found” you through Jane… we went to college together and were sorority sisters, etc! :) I’m so glad you can empathize with what I’m going through… I am struggling to stay focused on what I set out to want to do career wise because I can’t even seem to get an interview aaaaanywhere. I’ll probably shoot you an email!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

