10 weeks into the working world.

I’ve been working for over 2 months now and as a side note, I am proud to announce that I have finally rejoined the privileged Americans and I have health insurance for the first time in 2.5 years! My job is hectic to say the least. I work in a residential treatment home that houses 5 adolescents. We’re currently at 4 residents and every day is chaotic and totally different. My shifts (7 am – 3:30 pm) go by very quickly but I am always so worn out it’s difficult to do anything on my time off, plus my “weekend” are Mondays and Tuesdays, so a social life? nope. My clients range from 17-23 and they are male and female and live with several different mental illnesses and behaviors including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, self-mutilation, suicidal ideation, depression, panic disorder, conduct disorder, and post traumatic stress syndrome. Plus, they’re all moody adolescents on top of it! I help with cooking, daily hygiene, facilitating skills training and therapeutic groups, take clients to medical appointments and outings, administer medications, and bill for any interaction longer than 7 minutes and take notes on everything. Again, my job is very hectic :)

Being back in Portland has been a slow but great adjustment as well. The weather here has been amazing and I’ve been to several Timbers matches, but I haven’t found a way to network and make connections yet. I grew up in Portland but it’s been nine years since I lived here so it just feels a bit strange!

any ideas for how to network with people my age that doesn’t include me awkwardly sitting at a bar by myself?

:) cheers to summer!!

One thought on “10 weeks into the working world.

Leave a Reply

